Gender Bender

I was hoping for a boy.  A little boy – named George Michael – that I would take home the first weekend of May all bundled up with love and care on the flight home from Toronto.  A little boy who would be affectionate and cuddly (as owners have told me), intelligent and strong, amusing and charming, and nip and the ankles of any other male in his presence.

I was hoping for a boy.  I was planning for a boy.  I was ready for a boy.

And then I saw her.  Cute as a button, melt your heart ‘aaawww’, enough cute to last a lifetime.

Unfortunately it was not meant to be.  Little Houdini had to go to her forever home that very weekend, and no matter what I did I couldn’t convince Corporate to come to Ottawa, get his car, drive 1 hour outside of the GTA, meet Houdini, get Houdini, drive back to Ottawa, go home to Toronto.  Obviously… especially when he’s not 100% sold on a kitty, even one as cute as Houdini.  But his voice was tender when I asked ‘Can I keep her?’ so I knew I just had to wait a little longer.

Of course having a girl means having to think of a new name.  I wasn’t expecting a girl and as such I had no idea what to call her.  My brother Greg suggested still calling her George Michael, but he forgets that I’m not giving up on getting George Michael.  After spending a class debating girl names with my friend, let’s call her Nat, I left dejected wondering what exactly to name her; I mean, George Michael is such a brilliant name, how could I ever top that?

Of course, Nat thinks George Michael is a ridiculous name.  She commented – a fateful comment if ever one was made – that “Carrie, you’re so ridiculous that you’re probably going to end up naming her, like, Dany Heatley.”

She was right.

Everyone, without further adue, meet Danni (because she’s a girl!) Heatley.  She’s due to be mine in May 2008.

 danni.jpg

~ by Carrie on March 2, 2008.

23 Responses to “Gender Bender”

  1. She’s adorable, Carrie!

  2. Oh, she is so sweet.

  3. Oh! She’s so precious!

  4. Awwwwww she is adorable!

  5. She is a cutie and I am not a cat person. As far as I am concerned she’ll just grow up to be another pussy on the prowl.

    Have a great week, Carrie

  6. carrie she is adorable!!! makes me miss my sir charles. regarding doctorate pt guy keep your fingers crossed for me!!!

  7. Too cute! Love the post title 🙂

  8. Aww … makes me wish I weren’t allergic!

  9. Very cute. And you know what…she looks just like a Danni. Go figure!!!!

  10. Awww. I want one.

  11. She is adorable!! What kind is she???

  12. Given the namesake, please don’t let her get behind the wheel!

  13. She is absolutely GORGEOUS!!! 🙂

  14. That is some serious cuteness, right there!

  15. My little blog sis is having a girl! Aww, she’s just freaking so adorable! Danni! And you’ll still get George Michael? They will be such great pals. I’m so happy for you!

  16. Oh for cute’s sake, how can you wait that long for those eyes?

    I think that Dani’s a good name, but I see no problem in calling a girl cat George Michael, either. It would be like George Sands, but more funky.

  17. sooo sweet! enjoy her when you get her

  18. Fabulous name. I think it suits her perfectly.

  19. Georgette Michelle? No, I’m kidding. She’s gotta have a strong name with as much flair and fabulousity as her! And since you still have some time before you do indeed get her, I’m sure you’ll come up with something just as great.

    P.S. How was the Spice Girls concert?

  20. Oh. My. Goodness.

    How adorable!

  21. Girls are better than boys, I have two girl dogs so I know!

  22. She is the sweetest thing ever.
    I want a kitty!

    As an aside, I knew a guy with 5 cats in his apartment, the majority of whom were named after Vancouver Canucks. We wanted him to get a pair of orange ones and name them the Sedin twins.

  23. Wow – so cute! You must be really excited for May!

Leave a Reply

 
