Spice Up Your Life!

On Monday night my cousin – let’s call her April – and I are going to Toronto to see the Spice Girls last concert in Canada.  For one night she and I get to be 13 years old again and rock out to the familiar pop songs of yester-year and remember what it meant to have ‘girl power’.

Now, some of my friends have rolled their eyes at me, wondering why the hell I would shell out almost 200$ to see the Spice Girls – or Spice Moms, as my dad calls them – when I could very easily spend it on something else.  Well… there are a lot of reasons why I’ve chosen to go to the concert.  Not because of their vocal talents – oh no.  Between the 5 of them I’d say they’re average – but I really liked what they represented: friendship and girl power – which is a hell of a lot more than what 2000 onward singer-starlets have come to represent.

Let me elaborate; Britney Spears.  She is more of an icon to synthesizers and dancing.  Don’t get me wrong; she is an amazing performer and showgirl… but if given the chance to see her or any other concert; I’d go to any other concert.  And what is she saying to little girls?  “I’m not that innocent” – clearly.  Thanks for showing us that – pardon the pun.  Ahem. But please do get better; you definitely need some time to heal. Moving on.

Lindsay Lohan.  Umm… well she was good in Mean Girls.  ‘Rumors’ got sufficiently stuck in my head, but so did Ace of Bases ‘Cruel Summer’.   Ah fack – it’s back.  And I never heard anything else from her album – thank God. Anyway she’s more of a gong show than a performer, a tribute to those horror stories your parents used to tell you about what would happen if you didn’t eat your vegetables or listen to your mother… or if you DID listen to your mother if she was as much of a gong show as Lindsay’s.  You too need some time to heal, and as far away from the prying eyes of strangers the better.

Paris Hilton.  For the love of God woman; I don’t know who bought your album but I think your cut of your family’s fortune will be just enough to refund them plus interest.  I’m not even going to GO there girlfriend.  Don’t get me wrong; you’re beautiful and picture well – stick to modeling.  You’re fabulous at it.

Heidi Montag.  Holy shit.  First of all, who are you?  Second of all, why are you on the cover of so many magazines?  Did you win a Nobel Prize or something? Doubtful, but moving on. Third of all, who told you that you could sing?  They’re wrong.  Fourth of all, who told you that a music video consisted of you naked writhing on a beach was a good idea?  They too are wrong – unless you’re interested in another kind of video.  Hey, you have the body for it.

Sure, you could probably say the same things (and more) about the Spice Girls, but think about it.  They’re like my generations version of The Monkees, i.e. artists that didn’t take themselves seriously and just had fun, knowing that they weren’t bigger than Jesus or entitled to movie rolls, Oscar invites or reality shows that nowadays plug up the airwaves of TV, radio and the internet.  They know it, we know it, so let’s just party and have a good time.

I got to thinking about this yesterday when a co-worker asked her team lead about the music I was playing.  I was alone in my pod listening to the likes of Elizabeth Schwartzkopf and Rene Fleming – specifically her Song to the Moon (click it; it’s AMAZING) and my unsuspecting co-worker, let’s call her Kali, asked if the woman I was listening to was in pain.  Doubled over in laughter, my other co-worker, let’s call him Stan, and I explained to Kali that opera was in fact very challenging and that it is just her voice (especially Elizabeth), nothing else.  That started the conversation on how compared to other ‘artist’ of the day, you can truly appreciate (or not appreciate) the sound of a pure voice without lip-synching or resorting to nudity.

Sure, the artists I speak of are nowhere near as infamous famous as other artists aforementioned and not mentioned, with the exception of the Spice Girls, however I feel much more comfortable listening to, purchasing, and attending their music than anyone else.

Now if you’ll excuse me; I’m rockin out to some Metric vs Gorillaz!

Happy Friday!  

~ by Carrie on February 22, 2008.

29 Responses to “Spice Up Your Life!”

  1. I’m pretty sure I am the only female this side of Timbuktu that isn’t following this Heidi Montag thing. I have never seen an episode of the Hills (is tht even the show that made her “famous”?) Although ask me about any VH1 reality show cast member and that is a different story. But I digress. Of course, we all look down on these starlets for being such a mess, but what about other celebrities, Madonna made a name for herself by working the club scene, and she has been idolized by millions. It is the nature of the beast of popular culture. It is so hard for people to make a name for themselves while keeping some decorum.

  2. […] The Blemish – Better than a slap to the face wrote an interesting post today on Spice Up Your Life!Here’s a quick excerpt On Monday night my cousin – let’s call her April – and I are going to Toronto to see the Spice Girls last concert in Canada.  For one night she and I get to be 13 years old again and rock out to the familiar pop songs of yester-year and remember what it meant to have ‘girl power’. Now, some of my friends have rolled their eyes at me, wondering why the hell I would shell out almost 200$ to see the Spice Girls – or Spice Moms, as my dad calls them – when I could very easily spend it on somethin […]

  3. […] TV y Espectáculos wrote an interesting post today on Spice Up Your Life!Here’s a quick excerpt On Monday night my cousin – let’s call her April – and I are going to Toronto to see the Spice Girls last concert in Canada.  For one night she and I get to be 13 years old again and rock out to the familiar pop songs of yester-year and remember what it meant to have ‘girl power’. Now, some of my friends have rolled their eyes at me, wondering why the hell I would shell out almost 200$ to see the Spice Girls – or Spice Moms, as my dad calls them – when I could very easily spend it on somethin […]

  4. I guess they didn’t cancel their Toronto tour date, yet. Kidding about that. Have a great time. There’s no shame in liking music that just makes you feel good. If Milli Vanilli still was able to tour, I’d see them.

  5. I love Metric!

  6. (8) Slam your body down and ziga zig ahhhhhhhhhhhh (8)
    Love the Spice Girls! Especially about what you said … friendship and girl power!

  7. That sounds like an amazingly fun time – enjoy!

    And I love your taste in music, Metric vs. Gorillaz = very nice!

  8. You like what you like and don’t ever feel that you have to apologize for that. The Girls had some hits that were quite catchy … while I didn’t go out of my way to listen to their music, if it was played I didn’t leave the room or change the radio station, etc.

    I think the only exception to your statement of … they don’t feel entitled to … I get the feeling that the posh girls (mom) feels that she is entitled to some things … just an observation, mind you.

    Enjoy the show … is Corporate going with you?

  9. You hit the nail on the head with this post. Enjoy the show and have fun.

  10. […] tagged the monkeesOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. Spice Up Your Life! saved by 3 others     Hawthorneheightmusic bookmarked on 02/24/08 | […]

  11. @ Duchess ~ I don’t look ‘down’ at her, per say; but I absolutely don’t look ‘up’ to her. In fact… I don’t look at her in general. I think she can do a LOT better for herself but I don’t know – again, not too sure who she is anyway.

  12. @ egan ~ hahaha; hopefully not, because then someone would have some ‘splainin to do!!

    @ Jamie ~ ME TOO!! They’re such a great Canadian band!

  13. @ Bhanu ~ If you wanna be my lover/you gotta get with my friends!!

    @ Kyla ~ thanks girlfriend! love metric!!

  14. @ George ~ Oh the Girls have changed a lot in 10 years… Posh especially, but back in the 90s when they weren’t MRS whatever or whatnot it was nice to see. No, Corporate is not going with me; I wouldn’t subject him to a Spice Girls concert!

    @ Carla ~ thanks!

  15. Damn u lucky b……! Now I’m def not goin to hook u up wit notes. lol jokes! Take lotsa pics and have fun!!!

  16. I have no idea who the Heidi girl is, but kudos to the Spice Girls for touring again. I will admit that I saw their movie and you know what, Roger Moore, James Bond himself was willing to be in it, so the Spice Girls are ok in my book. 😉

  17. Hope you have a fantastic time at the show!

  18. Ha, oh god… Heidi is like a car wreck for me. It’s bad bad, but I cannot, NOT watch her. Her and Spencer together. Man!

    Have fun at the show darlin!

  19. hahahaha… Heidi is sooooo awful. Loved your rant on her.

  20. I love mees nothing better than a good old smack down on Heidi Montag…just a girl trying to follow her dreams…

  21. Heidi Montag is so wrong…just wrong…her claim to fame is running thin…..

  22. I second your opinion on Montag – her and her boyfriend/husband or whatever can go to hell, and take that horrible song with them.

  23. @ Nat ~ Hahaha thanks you!!

    @ Michael C ~ Honestly neither do I; I think she’s a ‘reality’ star or something… I dunno. Spice Girls was AWESOME… the movie was so campy but I loved it!

  24. @ Ruby ~ It was AMAZING!! I had a blast; it was TOTALLY worth it!

    @ brookem ~ I’ve heard it’s the ultimate guilty pleasure; emphasis on the guilty part. Oh wells; we all have our vices. Lately mine’s been Paranormal State. Yumm…

  25. @ Miriam D ~ Thanks girl!

    @ Evans ~ I love laying the smack down too! It’s so … fulfilling, isn’t it?

  26. @ Princess Extraordinaire ~ So very wrong…

    @ apollocreed ~ Hi! Thanks for stopping by!! Isn’t that song terrible?

  27. I clicked. It was a pretty song. Me likey.

  28. SUP! I decided to start blogging again.
    I don’t even know who Heidi Montag is.
    Hm.

  29. Love the Spice Girls! My friend saw them in DC and said it was an awesome concert!

Leave a Reply

 
