Someone to watch/Over me

With the recent news of Benazir Bhutto’s assassination (which is all too familiar to the start of World War 1, if you know what I mean) – I thought I’d write about a little organization I recently joined (if by recent I mean November… whatever).  I like to think of it as my little contribution to the “War on Terror”… that is, before I’m conscripted as a nurse.  Seriously – I can just sense it. 

Anyway, I found this organization on the internet (God bless Google) after attending the Remembrance Day ceremonies in Ottawa.  Although it’s not Canadian based, its mission is still the well-being of deployed soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan.  This organization is Soldier’s Angels. 

To cut to the chase, when you sign up to be an ‘angel’ you ‘adopt’ a soldier for the length of his/her deployment: 6, 9 or 12 months.  You promise to write them letters and send little care packages as often as you can, just to let them know that you’re thinking about them.  You don’t have to agree with the war itself or where exactly they are deployed, but I’d hate to see anyone disagree with the amount of bravery it takes for someone to stand and fight. 

I know in Canada you can send mail to our troops for free courtesy of Canada Post, but really; for 80-something cents, you could make some soldier’s day while he or she sits in the sandbox and fights for our freedom to live the way we choose to live.  A dear friend of mine is in Afghanistan as a medic for 9 months, and I write her as much as possible and send her little treats like Second Cup White Hot Chocolate and Burts Bees lip balm; little things that can fit into an envelope/pocket or that can be consumed almost immediately.  Each time I hear from her she tells me just how much knowing that the soldier have the support of the people they are protecting means to them; it really does mean the world to someone who’s an un-welcomed guest in a hostile country. 

Some may think – “hm, that might be awkward.  Why would a soldier want to receive letters from strangers?  Would he/she even read them?” Well… I once thought that about a blog, and look where we all are now.  And often it’s only when you leave home do you realize just how much you miss it and love it.  Plus, I don’t know about you, but when I receive mail that isn’t a bill, I’m pretty damn excited. I’m not going to lie. 

If you have a moment, check it out here: http://www.soldiersangels.com .  You don’t necessarily have to buy ‘their’ merchandise to send over to your soldier.  I go to Loblaws for the lip balm and coffee, Second Cup for the hot chocolate, Chapters for the greeting cards, Shoppers Drug Mart for candy, Book Market for books, and Pharma plus for moisturizer.   One slight downside to this commitment is that you may never hear from your soldier; I mean, he’s fighting a war.  Who knows where he/she will be next.  They may never meet you or see you, but isn’t that what being an angel is all about? 

~ by Carrie on December 31, 2007.

14 Responses to “Someone to watch/Over me”

  1. I’ve heard of that site and think it’s pretty cool. I think it’s great that you’ve signed up for it. I’ll need to check it out.

    Happy New Year!

  2. It’s great what you are doing and the fact that you are bringing awareness to others I will check this out as well

    Happy New Year!!!

  3. Definitely going to check that out – what a good way to start off the new year = )

    Look at you, caring for people left right and center. Somehow I think you chose a good career path!

    Hope you had a great New Years!

  4. You wear nothing but you
    Wear it so well
    Tied up and twisted
    The way Id like to be
    For you, for me, come crash
    Into me

    I love that song … 🙂

    Anyways, that’s a pretty nifty organization they’ve created there(soldiers angels).

    Happy New Year Carrie!

  5. @ Airam = It is pretty cool; I had to wait a bit in order to get a soldier but it’s sure worth it! Merry New Year to you too!

    @ B = Yay! I love how YOU bring awareness to animals… in fact, you and a friend of mine have inspired me to become a meat minimalist… I can’t go cold turkey (haha) immediately, but in fact, I much prefer veggie burgers to regular burgers now!

  6. @ Kyla = Aw, thanks girl friend! I mean… sometimes it really is just sending a letter, and we can all do that! Merry New Year to you too!

    @ K = I’ll be your Dixie Chicken\ If you’ll be my Tennessee Lamb
    and we can walk together \ down in Dixie Land

    Merry New Year!!

  7. This is a great thing to be a part of. Happy New Year to you!

  8. @ Michael C = Thanks!! You as well!

  9. Tori (from “Radioactive Girl” blog) wrote something similar this summer and I ended up picking a soldier to write to and it was really rewarding! The website I was at had the men and women serving write out what their ‘wish list’ was and a lot of them said ‘crystal light’ because it just made the water taste better.

    Anyway, I’m glad that you wrote this post. Such a great reminder that we can all do more to help. And I completely agree with you- regardless of your view on the war- the bravery that is required to DO the work these people are doing shouldn’t be up for debate. Well said!

  10. @ brandy = Oh fun!! Was it Canadian or American? Crystal Light, eh? I would have never thought of that… I’ll put that on my list to send next mini-package I send to my soldier.

  11. Well said Carrie … I disagree with this “war” with every fibre of my body but the troops didn’t ask to be sent there, although signing up for military duty includes the possibility of fighting, they deserve our support.

    Thank you for starting 2008 with such an excellent post

  12. @ George ~ I also disagree with the war in Iraq (and am inconclusive with the war in Afghanistan) but my soldier took an oath to protect his country and her allies… 🙂 So the least I can do is send him a letter, and some hot chocolate!

  13. Carrie you’re such an amazing person, consideration and caring are coming out of every pore. I think its fantastic you’re doing this, I will have to check it out. I agree with you in that while you can disagree with this war and with politics the men and women in the armed forces deserve support and recognition from the civilians at home for whom they fight.

  14. @ Ruby ~ aaww… thanks girl friend! That means a lot 🙂 You just made my day!

Leave a Reply

 
