Coffee In My Vodka

Usually around this time of the year – the three month period of a semester – I start to go crazy. My patience wanes like the dying sun, my self-care abilities diminish with each hour of sleep lost to reading/writing/stressing, and the buffer that usually stands between my mind and my lips fades away in the dark night. It’s also the time of year where the only place I can get a decent nights sleep is on my futon, and the only time I can write a decent paper is between the hours of 12:30 and 3:30 am.

Don’t you just love school?

The problem is… I really do love school. I love the atmosphere that it creates and the seemingly endless potential for socializing, discussing, and learning. I particularily like the year I am with – NSG ’09. We’re set to receive our papers from the board in June 2009 but graduate either December 2008 or April 2009. There is a total of 110 students and we learn together, study together, work together and of course, drink together. We are really a good group of people, and whichever institution we choose to work for will greatly benefit from our enthusiasm, intelligence and hard work.

However… with a class starting at 0800 and the majority of us living a good 1/2 an hour away by public transportation, it’s sometimes hard to get to class, or wake up for class. Especially on days like today when we start at 0800 and end at 2030. Seriously. It’s just so easy to sleep that extra 5 minutes, take a little more time in the shower (if we shower… ahem), go back for your iPod, look outside at the snow and say “fuck it”. But we’re here; I’m here… blogging away.

I don’t even know what I am writing. I’m just sipping my coffee and trying to orient myself.

Oh hey the title. Yes. Coffee in my vodka was/is an expression I use for the classes in my program that I find ridiculously, annoyingly unimportant. Well, perhaps the term ‘unimportant’ is a misnomer. Extrenuous. A certain course… Community Nursing… although I understand the theory behind why we should learn about it, caters to the lowest common denominator, the 2% of us who will actually go into Public Health immediately after school. Sure when we have families and mortgages I may consider switching from 12 hour shift work to 8:30-4:30 Monday to Friday, but while I am young I’d like to contribute to nursing by doing the work best done by the young. I’d much rather spend more time in the hospital honing my skills rather than being led by the nose by communities asking the impossible from students who have but 1 day to start making a difference.

Anyway, in the course evaluations we all get to fill out close to the end of the semester, I plan on writing that the only way I can surivive this course is if I put coffee in my vodka. Mean? Maybe. Dishonest? Never. For how do we learn to get better if we’re dishonest in our strenghts and areas for growth?

I don’t even know what I’m writing anymore. I need a nap.

~ by Carrie on November 26, 2007.

23 Responses to “Coffee In My Vodka”

  1. Coffee in my vodka? Sounds delicious :).

  2. @ Miriam ~ Haha thanks!! It’s like a Spanish coffee or other specialty coffees… just at 0800.

  3. Hmmmmm, if you make a cup of coffee with vodka, then make me a cup of coffee with a wee bit of the irish cream.

  4. @ K ~ I ran out of Baileys… but damn, irish cream in coffee is stellar.

  5. […] markrox wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptCoffee In My Vodka November 26, 2007 • 4 Comments Usually around this time of the year – the three month period of a semester – I start to go crazy. My patience wanes like the dying sun, my self-care abilities diminish with each hour of sleep lost to reading/writing/stressing, and the buffer that usually stands between my mind and my lips fades away in the dark night. It’s also the time of year where the only place I can get a decent nights sleep is on my futon, and the only time I can write […]

  6. hey – evaluations are pointless unless you’re honest!

  7. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptCoffee In My Vodka November 26, 2007 • 4 Comments Usually around this time of the year – the three month period of a semester – I start to go crazy. My patience wanes like the dying sun, my self-care abilities diminish with each hour of sleep lost to reading/writing/stressing, and the buffer that usually stands between my mind and my lips fades away in the dark night. It’s also the time of year where the only place I can get a decent nights sleep is on my futon, and the only time I can write […]

  8. i totally understand what you’re going thru right now. i’m 3 weeks away from having my degree, but first i need to tackle 5 papers and 4 tests. ugh! btw- i drink while i’m writing papers. probably not smart for most- but somehow i manage A’s on those papers 🙂 good luck with school!!

  9. @ Bre ~ Right on. In fact, I am SO honest that it took me 6 pages (double spaced, mind you) written to express half of what I wanted to say!

    @ AP ~ A hahaha! That is brilliant. I think I will treat myself to a glass of red while working on my next paper.

  10. My brothers girlfriend is going into nursing and has the same problem. She says it’s so frustrating to be taking classes that she knows aren’t a very… effective use of her time. And knowing that they are going to be at the school ALL THE TIME makes having a useless class even more frustrating. Keep on it lady, you will be finished soon enough! 🙂

  11. Your post is bringing me back bad memories of undergrad when I was in school full-time. It seemed like I ate, drank and breathed school. I can’t imagine still being a student but then again I am older than you. Oh and I hated those course evaluations!

  12. @ brandy ~ good for her!! We need more nurses that’s for sure… and I’m thisclose to seeing the light at the end of the tunnel!!

    @ Airam ~ Oh undergraduate degrees…

  13. My lord, trial by fire huh? I’m looking at my options for going back to school and the hours I’m going to have to start looking at to do it while I’m working are just frightening!

    I don’t think I would have done my BA had I not been able to choose my classes and the times I took them.

  14. Ha, “coffee in my vodka” made me giggle. I like the idea, actually. Or how about Baileys? Or Sambuka?! Yes, those would work well too. But this post isn’t all about drinking, now is it? Keep trekking lady! I hope these classes fly by for you!

  15. ack i feel for you. university can be so difficult. i’ve got an exam in the morning an oral exam thursday then it’s coasting until finals. i’m doubting that my sanity will remain intact.

  16. @ Kyla ~ Totally. It’s a whole different ball game when you have choices of classes and times… I’m so jealous of that freedom; but also, I don’t think I could get a BA because I’m not a theory/paper kind of learner!

    @ brookem ~ I ran out of Baileys; and I don’t consider adding a shot of Bailey’s to my coffee to be detrimental to my health or learning abilities. Vodka, however… is a bit more potent and gets my point across better about the state of my mental well being near the end of my nursing year!

  17. @ skcitygirl ~ Oral exam? Yuck! I remember those; it was always SO nerve wracking!! Good luck!!! And enjoy the ride until finals!

  18. 12 hrs shift are good cause ya have more time off they suck when you are having a bad day and want to get the hell outta there. I should have thought of vodka to keep me going when I was in school but hey I have been nursing for 7 years now and the thought of some vodka still works- you will see 😉

  19. @ B ~ Totally. I just did a 12 myself… I don’t know how you guys do it. Well… I guess you don’t have papers to write and exams to study for afterwards. I am excited to see if what I learned in school (ie vodka) translates into the “real world”.

  20. Good luck getting through it all. And yep, be honest on those evaluations.

  21. @ Carla ~ Thank you – I’ll need the good wishes!!

  22. I haven’t been in school for years, but I had LOTS of “coffee in my vodka” classes. I was always honest in the ANONYMOUS course evaluations. I’m a chicken like that!

  23. @ Jennifer: ME too.. I am always honest because the evals are anonymous… and I think they are even typed to ensure complete anonymity!

Leave a Reply

 
