Blogger’s Block

I have a confession: I’ve been back in civilization, ie near a computer with internet access, for just about a week now.  Granted from Thursday, August 23rd to Sunday, August 26th I was in Angelica’s wedding party, but either way I’ve had access, or at least the potential to have access, to a computer and internet.  And yet… I can’t seem to find anything to write about.No, wait.  That isn’t true.  I mean – I’ve been at Jesus Camp for 2 and a half months, which shows by my inability to say “Oh My God” anymore and the fact that I’ve gained 10 pounds from eating all the donated food (read; deep fried EVERYTHING) that comes with the whole underprivileged thing – which is a crying shame in itself.  You can’t send an underprivileged kid to camp and feed him or her garbage when prisoners eat better then they do.  Anyway… back to my point. There are plenty of good nursing-related stories that aren’t too gross that I can regal you with, not to mention the War of the Roses I found myself caught in between, or the really ballin’ watch tan I managed to give myself as a constant reminder of my sun-kissed work days at camp – a tan which Angelica was familiar with but all the same not too impressed by.  Still… even with all these activities, all the stories… I can’t seem to write.

And it’s not that I don’t have time to write.  Oh no.  I do.  I’ve returned to my old job for the week to help out with the little things during a major transition – except that nobody is telling me what those little things are and try as I might I just can’t find them on my own… So basically I’ve been sitting at my former desk doing, well, nothing.  I can’t even write in my agenda the important upcoming dates in the school year because oh wait, I don’t have a schedule.  Every year I argue with my institution the fact that I am indeed a student and that I need courses to complete my degree.  Odd, it being Wednesday, August 29, 2007 and I have no concept of the courses I am about to embark on despite countless numbers of promises spoken to me about this very predicament.   Maybe “by Wednesday” clearly means “by Thursday”.  Sigh.

See? Yet another blog-worthy story I could regal to you… but as I lay my fingers on the keyboard of this black PC in an office so quiet you can hear yourself breathe… they lay still, as if waiting for a command that’s been lost in translation.

To be perfectly honest with everyone I don’t write often.  Hell, I don’t even consider what I am doing right now to be ‘writing’, so to speak.  To me writing is eloquent; it’s focused, structured, and really really good.  What I’m doing right now, and what I have been doing since the start of CITC is… well, rambling as I would to a friend – except on screen instead of in person.  Perhaps that is why I find myself struggling to write; I’m trying to compose a masterpiece when all I need to do is talk.

But enough about me.  How is everybody? Did ya miss me?

~ by Carrie on August 29, 2007.

12 Responses to “Blogger’s Block”

  1. i did miss you! i love that you said “ballin'” that’s a gem right there. sounds like jesus camp was a very interesting experience! i totally hear you on the writer’s block. i think it’s going around here, and, it’s summer. so maybe that has something to do with it. or maybe that’s just my excuse? anyway, im glad you’re back and looking forward to reading more of your wonderful writing (which it is!). 🙂

  2. oh wow! i commented and WHAM, a new layout! love it!

  3. The stories and such will start flowing when the time is right to write – never fear! Just relax and enjoy.

    Did you have a good time?
    Are you happy to be home?

    And yes, it is sad that prisoners are fed better than the underprivileged. Was this a US or a Canadian camp?

  4. You terrified me! I tried to follow your link off my site this afternoon and it said you had deleted your blog- I almost fell off my chair! Writers block is definitely better than that!

    Glad you’re back to civilization, and my thought would be that it’s times like this where it’s okay to lean on a meme. ; )

    Did we miss you? Give me a break, you know we missed you!

  5. Love the new look and glad you’re back! I have to agree with the comments above me. I think a lot of people have been going through blogger’s block. This is your blog and the beauty of it is that everything you write is a masterpiece in its own right. Sometimes the best posts are the ones where you just sat and wrote. Not really thinking about it until you see the words appear on screen.

    So you don’t know what your class schedule is like then? Hopefully it’s not too crammed.

  6. You shouldn’t be all formal and structured with your friends … just talk and we’ll hang off every fractured phrase and dangling participle

  7. Yay! You’re back!

  8. I’m so glad you’re back. I was getting really tired of clicking on my link to you ever couple of days and still seing that you’re “floating” 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear your camp stories.

    and… about the watch tan… just be glad your friend’s solution wasn’t to make you wear a wrist corsage. 🙂

  9. Love your new layout and I can completely relate to the writers block. I just spent the last week looking at my computer and then walking away. Sometimes what you are thinking about just doesn’t translate once you try and type it up. Glad to see you are back!

  10. @ brookem ~ HI! YAY! I missed you too!! Jesus Camp was an incredibly interesting experience… and as the pictures trickle in on Facebook many many stories are flooding back to my mind… AND my fingers!

    @ The Exception ~ It was a Canadian Camp, and to be fair, they were doing the best they could with the amount they had.. but still; some days all I could do was shake my head at the consequences I’d get in the nurses station that could easily be remedied by the food choices that my boss made.

    @ Kyle Bea ~ oh memes… I haven’t done a meme in sucha long time, and not because I’ve been at camp for so long!

    @ Airam ~ wow… your words are so kind; and just what I needed to hear. Thank you so much.

  11. @ George ~ Thank you George… its one of the many reasons I love blogging; when you have verbal conversations anyone and everyone could jump in and the point of your thoughts could be lost in the fray… when you blog – it’s all out there.

    @ Brrr ~ YAY!

    @ UC ~ She ALMOST got me a corsage – I would have worn it for her but the bracelets were a much much better idea!

    @ brandy ~ Thank you! Have you ever just needed a change? Yeah… that’s what I felt when I took a look at my blog for the first time since July.

  12. John

    For the most part I agree with you and enjoy reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

 
