I’m Not Dead

… just floating.

Oh me oh my. Hmm. I guess WordPress isn’t all that it is cracked up to be. Where do I begin?

First of all – thank you all SO much for your comments and even emails of love and concern for little ol me. As the title of this post would suggest, along with this sentence you are currently reading, I am NOT dead. Just floating.

Perhaps I should explain a bit more. I wrote a post, well 3 to be exact, not too long ago whilst I was in Barbados visiting my family. In each post I had introduced my plans for the summer and for everyone not to panic whilst I was on my little hiatus. However, because there is always a however, my posts didn’t seem to make it online… at all. Which is such a pity, because I threw in a little ditty about those supposed “Tramp Stamps” (oh don’t even get me started on THAT one. I will see if I can pull that one up… but back to my point) I keep hearing about – oh and have. Anyway.

In May just before I set off to Europe to join Vegas on a 10 day whirlwind tour, I had mentioned that I was leaving my current job, one that I had held each and ever summer for the past 3 years for a new opportunity. This new opportunity being so incredible, so good for my resume and future career and ambitions, so impossible to pass up, that I bit the proverbial bullet and jumped out of my comfort zone feet first into the fire.

I went off to Jesus Camp.

Have I ever mentioned that I am nowhere near Chrisitian? Don’t get me wrong here: I like the Christ, but not so fond of Christians, for (not to steal this from Ghandi at all) some Christians are so unlike their Christ. But I am of the opinion (as religion is so very personal and just because opinions differ doesn’t make one right or wrong) that a single-parent household, below here on Earth of above in (insert your belief here) simply doesn’t work for yours truly. I’ll leave it at that.

Perhaps I shall start from the beginning. 3 years ago Angelica suggested that I apply for the Camp Nurse position at her former stomping grounds in a little remote Bfnowhere Jesus camp. Taking into consideration what a lovely, wonderful, kind and caring person Angelica is I made a mental note to apply for the Camp Nurse position in a few years, as education, knowledge and experience all count when you sign up to be the only ‘medical’ personnel in charge of 80-100 children and 35 staff members. Anyway last summer I turned down the position in lieu of school and was going to turn down the position this year because to be honest I was too chicken to leave my wonderful, comfortable, easy-peasy office job which paid much more than a camp position ever could.

That is – until I learned that this camp, Angelicas happy place and the happy place for countless numbers of underprivilaged and often forgotten children – would be closing after this final summer of 2007. On top of the fact that last years ‘nurse’ was grossly incompetent… hell, she wasn’t even a real nurse! I felt it my duty to the profession I will hopefully join and to the staff of last year and the children of last year who could have left camp with a negative picture of what a nurse is, what a nurse does, and what a nurse can and will do to her patients.

Taking a drastic pay-cut (think 10$/hour here), a heart-breaking goodbye to friends and co-workers who were more like family, a last hurrah in the city (for I am anything BUT a city-slicker), I packed my Barbados bag with a few extra city comforts and not 24 hours after landing in Ottawa from Barbados I was on the train to Belleville and off to camp.

I am not going to lie – the first week in a strange town with a bunch of strangers who all knew each other intimately from church and youth groups and band camp and whatnot – I was devastatingly lonely. Not to mention a little creeped out with the amount of religious aspects of this camp. Sure, perhaps it was my fault for not cluing into the whole “Jesus camp” bit, but man oh man. I did promise my lovely brother Greg that I wouldn’t drink the purple juice and so far I have kept my word. I spent most of that first week and orientation sitting quietly and observing the people around me, trying to see where an almost 23 year old would best fit in with a majority of 16-17-18 year olds with three 19 year olds and one 27 year old thrown into the mix. Being at the median age is easy now that’s for sure… but I’m not going to lie – my lonliness was palpable.

And then the kids started to arrive – and the councellors and staff started to need me. And talk more to me. And like me. And me like them back.

On Wednesday I celebrated “Happy I Met You A Month Ago Day” with the original group, the ones I could only observe that first week and now consider to be a new member of an ever growing family. Today I celebrated “Happy I Met You A Month Ago Day” with the rest of the staff – and it made my heart smile when they told me that despite meeting me just 30 days ago and living their entire lives without knowledge of my existance, that now after meeting me they can’t imagine life without me… even the weekend.

So on this note – I apologise my dear dear blogging friends; my letters in bottles never made it to shore, and I never meant to make you wonder and worry where I was, what I was doing, who I was doing it with, etc etc. I am lovely, I am happy, I am tired, but I am happy.

And don’t you worry – I have plenty of juicy stories involving yours truly; figures that the juciest stories of the summer happen to me while I’m at Jesus Camp.

~ by Carrie on July 27, 2007.

16 Responses to “I’m Not Dead”

  1. Brilliant! First of all, I’m glad that you didn’t die. Now that’s out of the way- it sounds like you did something fantastic with your summer and blogging hiatus. Congratulations for doing something brave and unexpected and wonderful. And for making this year at camp something memorable for these kids, who sound like they deserved it.

  2. Yay! You’re back! Sounds like you’re having a unique summer! I myself am headed to a “winery camp” in Kelowna tomorrow. That is what I will now be calling the next 12 days of my vacation…

  3. Glad you’re back, you were very missed! Hope Barbados was fantastic and I can’t wait for Jesus Camp stories!

  4. Hey You

    glad your back! I am going to Barbados in January I hear it is beautiful there

    sounds like you are having a busy summer- enjoy!

  5. Glad to hear you’re having a great summer and we’re all looking forward to hearing more about it soon!

    Thanks for clarifying that you hadn’t been kidnapped too!!

  6. I’m so glad that you’re back. We’ve missed you. I think what you are doing now is amazing. Few people would take a pay cut to go help out forgotten children.
    Oh, and remember it wasn’t long after when Carrie said the lonliness was palpable that she and Berger got together. The lonliness doesn’t last forever. You know I had to throw some SATC in there!

  7. you’re alive! i’m glad to hear that you’re doing well and that you’re happy! sounds like the summer has been a really great experience. looking forward to hearing more about it.
    ps- can i just say i love that beth threw in a little s&tc there?

  8. I am so glad that you’re back, safe and sound … I missed your beautiful writing style and stopped by almost every day to see if there was something, anything.

    Sorry sweetie, but I think of armpit when I hear the word Belleville mentioned. If you are ever going to have an accident on the 401 never ever let it be in the vicinity of Belleville and the General hospital in town. Do I have a story I could tell you.

    Jesus Loves Me! This I know,
    For the Bible tells me so;
    Little ones to Him belong,
    they are weak, but He is stong.

    Yes, Jesus Loves Me!
    Yes, Jesus Loves Me!
    Yes, Jesus Loves Me!
    The Bible tells me so.

    Jesus from His throne on high,
    come into this world to die;
    That I might from sin be free,
    Bled and died upon the tree.

    Yes, Jesus Loves Me!
    Yes, Jesus Loves Me!
    Yes, Jesus Loves Me!
    The Bible tells me so.

    Religion … a very alarming subject when those who believe so strongly about God will think nothing of killing another human to prove their point

  9. I’m glad that you’re very happy, love. And making a very big and bold decision — that sure takes a lot of guts and maturity. I do hope that Jesus Camp works out well for you and do let us know tales of your experiences 😉

  10. Wow what a great thing you’re doing! It goes to show your character. Any person to have you as a nurse would be lucky!

  11. Carrie,

    First, I am so glad you are back and are okay!

    Second, camp is an amazing experience. I worked at two different summer camps – it is intense. People arrive as strangers and leave having shared an amazing summer. Some remain great friends wile others drift apart. But that summer experience is always shared. Enjoy it and have a great time!

    As for the tattoo – I didn’t know that about having one in the center of one’s back? Honestly, it is just silly.

  12. Hey Carrie, Camp over yet?

  13. Camp? Is that where you are? You’re worse than I am!!

  14. […] the past few posts I’ve alluded to, and stated that, during my 2.5 month hiatus at Jesus Camp, and even a little bit in Barbados, yours truly gained 10 pounds. Now if you’ve ever seen me in […]

  15. The title of this blog? That’s good news.

  16. @ Thomas ~ Wicked.

Leave a Reply

 
