Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

Oh. My. God. 

I know this sounds awful strange, but it just hit me.  I am leaving today.  In a few hours, well as soon as the work day ends, I’m rolling my little black suitcase downstairs to meet Vegas’ mother to start the first leg of my journey to the UK and
France.   I mean… I’m not going to be here tomorrow.  Hell, I’ll be in tomorrow before it is tomorrow here! 
 

“All my bags are packed/I’m ready to go” 

This past week has been a whirlwind of last minute preparation, saying goodbye, watching hockey on the lawn of city hall, searching for good books and lorazepam and quite possibly a travel pillow… and I still have next to nothing done.  Or, at least, I feel that I have next to nothing done.  But it’s not like I have much choice now.   

“I’m standin’ here outside your door” 

Am I actually doing this? Well… I fly out of Montreal, a city 2 hours away from Ottawa… meaning if everything goes according to plan (I just jinxed myself by writing this) I should arrive at the airport around 7:30-8:00 for my 10:10 flight to London.  I arrive at 9:40 am
UK time on Friday June 1st.  I just got my e-ticket from Vegas’ mother on Monday night – perhaps that is why it never really quite felt real?
 

“I’d hate to wake you up/to say goodbye” 

Monday evening Vegas’ family and I dropped him off at the
Ottawa airport for his 7:00 pm flight.  Knowing that I was to see him not 4 days later, I stood back and watched from the corner of my eye his father wish him well and his mother shower him with kisses and hugs as I patiently waited.  I lowered my head a bit and smiled at the affection shown towards Vegas from his family – relishing in the sweet tenderness of viewing 2 proud parents watching their nest empty yet again, just as they were re-absorbing the familiar sounds and feelings of having both children at home.  As his mother turned away a final time, Vegas moved to me.
 

“So kiss me and smile for me” 

Last night I met up with a few girlfriends on the Mile for an evening of drinks and good old fashioned city pride. Oh, and to tell them that I’m leaving tomorrow.  And then to drown my sorrows in never ending cheap wings and pitchers of Keiths.  Anyway I only told a few friends – I didn’t want to make such grandeur about it.  It’s no big deal really; people go to
Europe all the time, and the last thing I want is to make people think that I am throwing this opportunity in their faces.  Don’t laugh: it happened when I had told a friend of mine that I was going – Vince – and his response was of jealousy that it was not HE I was traveling with… but if you recall that post you understand where I’m coming from.
 

“Now the time has come for me to leave you” 

Today also marks the end of an era for my ‘career’ life: I’ve worked in the same office for just about 3 years… pretty solid considering the industry’s high turn over and burn out rate.  It will be the first summer since 2004 that I have not worked here, nor do I think I will be returning to work here over the school year like I have done in the past.  Instead I will be heading to camp on the 25th of June until the 24th of August – my first full summer outside of Ottawa since, um, since I lived in
Washington DC? My desk is semi-empty, the office is semi-empty… and yet strangely I am ok with this.  I am ok with endings – especially ones that find me in
Paris!
 

Ok – enough whining. I’ll elaborate more on this when I go home – but for now… 

“And close your eyes and I’ll be on my way”

~ by Carrie on May 31, 2007.

15 Responses to “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane”

  1. Wings and pitchers soothe so many jitters! I hope you have an amazing time on your trip and when you get back things are just going to get better and better for you Carrie!

  2. Bon Voyage! You are going to have a wonderful time. I mean it, everyone loves Paris!

  3. You are going to have such a grand time. I hoe you have great books for the airport and flights. I am so excited for you!

  4. It really is hard to leave folks you love, but you’re going to have such a fabulous adventure!

  5. take lots of pics- Paris is beautiful you will love it!

    Have a great time:)!

  6. Carrie- I am so excited for you! I hope you have a fantastic time.
    Be sure to pack some comfy shoes because I’m sure you’ll be doing a lot of walking.

  7. Ahhh Paris…:) Good luck! And be safe!

  8. have a blast!!!!!

  9. Whoo hooo!! Have FUNnnnn!!

  10. Bon Voyage!!

  11. Have a great time and come back to us safe and sound.

  12. Sooo jealous! But not in a Vince kinda way 😉

    Hope you have fun!!

  13. I’m so excited for you!! Have a great, great time!! (And yes, it appears when I’m excited about holidays I’m not going on, i need to use exclamation points excessively!)

  14. Have a fantastic trip et bon voyage. I’m very jealous of your travels abroad.

  15. Enjoyyyyyyy 🙂 You’re making a helluva lot of us really jealous!

Leave a Reply

 
